HomeTechWhatsApp may reveal who recently has been online

WhatsApp may reveal who recently has been online

Date:

Related stories

spot_imgspot_img

WhatsApp has released a lot of new updates in the past few months (Picture: DENIS CHARLET/AFP via Getty)

WhatsApp is rolling out a new update where users can see which one of their friends were recently on the app, a move it says will encourage people to chat more. 

According to beta testing seen by WABetaInfo, the update will show a list of people who have recently been online.

The aim is to help start new conversations by showing users other people in their contact list they have not yet messaged. 

The update has been found in the pre-release versions of both the Android and the iOS versions of WhatsApp, and will be rolling out to users in the coming weeks.

However, it is worth noting that the update is optional, and does not show everyone who is online at that given moment. 

Instead, the update will reveal an overall picture of who has been online recently, and these details will disappear when users try to create a new chat or a call, so users can see who may be available for immediate interaction.

How the function looks in beta testing (Picture: WABetaInfo)

WABetaInfo said: ‘This feature provides users with a snapshot of recent online activity rather than a comprehensive list of all currently online contacts.

‘This means that a full online status activity for every contact isn’t available, as the feature is designed to give a general overview of activity rather than a real-time status update for all contacts.’

Users will not be able to see if a contact has been online if you have not messaged with them before, or if they have blocked you. 

You will be able to see which one of your contacts were recently online (Picture: Getty)

Despite WhatsApp having the feature of saying when users are online, whether they are typing, or when they were last seen, WABetaInfo said the company has added a range of privacy functions in the new feature. 

‘It is very important to mention that this feature was built with privacy in mind as contacts who have disabled their last seen and online status won’t be available in this list, ensuring that preferences regarding user privacy are respected at all times,’ the WABetaInfo said. 

There is an option to turn the function off, or have it on for specific people only.

However, turning it off also means that is no longer possible to see when other people are online either. 


MORE : Donald Trump makes bold promise about TikTok after flip-flopping on ban


MORE : Man behind viral dress that ‘broke the internet’ behind bars for attack on wife


MORE : Instagram is testing ‘ad breaks’ and it makes users ‘want to scream’

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories

spot_img