HomeWorldWorld Snooker Championship schedule, results and order of play from the Crucible

World Snooker Championship schedule, results and order of play from the Crucible


Related stories


The 2024 World Snooker Championship has arrived with 17 days of top-class sporting action lined up at the iconic Crucible Theatre in Sheffield before the latest champion is crowned on Monday 6 May.

Ronnie O’Sullivan enters the tournament on the brink of history, trying to claim a record eighth world title at the Crucible and break the current tie of seven with Stephen Hendry for most World Championships in the modern era.

The 48-year-old has had a sensational season, already winning the UK Championship and Masters, meaning victory in Sheffield would not only give him eight titles from each of snooker’s biggest three events but also see him become just the fourth man – after Hendry, Steve Davis and Mark Williams – to win the three triple crown events in a single season. He is currently the favourite on snooker betting sites to do just that.

But there are plenty of talented challengers looking to knock ’the Rocket’ off his perch. Luca Brecel brilliantly blitzed his way to the title 12 months ago but the Belgian has already been struck down by the ‘Crucible curse’ that has never seen a first-time winner repeat the trick the following year at the legendary theatre.

Luca Brecel won the World Snooker Championship title in Sheffield last year (PA Wire)

Aside from O’Sullivan, Judd Trump has been the player of the season with five ranking titles to his name this year and will be desperate to add a second World Championship to his CV, while Mark Allen has entered the very top tier of players over the past 18 months.

Here’s everything you need to know about the World Championship including schedule and results, while you can find predictions and tips for the tournament here and best bets for the first round here:

When is the World Snooker Chammpionship?

The World Snooker Championship begins at the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield on Saturday 20 April and finishes on Monday 6 May. The top 16 players in the world qualified automatically for the event and have been joined by the 16 men who came through qualifying.

How can I watch it?

The entire championship will be live on the BBC, with BBC Two, BBC Four, the BBC red button, BBC iPlayer and BBC Sport website showing every match across the 17 days. The tournament is also broadcast on Eurosport in the UK. Subscribers can also stream the match online via the Discovery+ app.

If you’re travelling abroad and want to watch major sporting events, you might need a VPN to unblock your streaming app. Our VPN round-up is here to help and includes deals on VPNs in the market. Viewers using a VPN need to make sure that they comply with any local regulations where they are, and also with the terms of their service provider.

How much is the prize fund?

The World Championship is the richest prize in snooker with players sharing a total prize fund of £2,395,000. The winner will receive £500,000, with the runner-up pocketing £200,000 and the losing semi-finalists netting £100,000 each. An additional £15,000 is available to the player who compiles the highest break (including the qualifying stage), while two maximums made across any of the three triple crown events this season will be rewarded with a £147,000 bonus – with Ding Junhui and Mark Allen just one maxi away from that prize having made 147s at the Masters back in January.

What is the tournament format?

  • First round – best of 19 frames played over two sessions
  • Second round and quarter-finals – best of 25 frames played over three sessions
  • Semi-finals – best of 33 frames over four sessions.
  • Final – best of 35 frames over four sessions

World Snooker Champiponship results

First round

Ford 10-6 Walden

Maguire 10-7 Carter

Trump 10-5 Vafaei

Jones 10-4 Anda

Gilbert 10-9 Brecel

Murphy 10-5 Haotian

O’Connor 10-6 Selby

Milkins 10-9 Pang

Si 10-9 Williams

Bingham 10-5 Wilson

Day 10-8 Hawkins

Allen 10-6 Williams

Lisowski 10-9 Ding

Wilson 10-1 Dale

Higgins 10-6 Jones

O’Sullivan 10-1 Page

Second round

Trump 13-7 Ford

Gilbert 13-4 Milkins

Jones 13-9 Si

Upcoming schedule

Sunday 28 April


Stephen Maguire 13-9 Shaun Murphy


John Higgins 7-9 Mark Allen

Jack Lisowski 7-9 Stuart Bingham


Kyren Wilson 3-7 Joe O’Connor*

Ryan Day 4-7 Ronnie O’Sullivan*

Monday 29 April


Joe O’Connor v Kyren Wilson

Ryan Day v Ronnie O’Sullivan


John Higgins v Mark Allen

Jack Lisowski v Stuart Bingham

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories